apt living

Discussion in 'The Constitutional & RKBA Forum' started by Curtis R, Apr 27, 2012.

1. Curtis R

Curtis R New Member

Ok guys and gals I live in a apt building. There is a sign as you enter the area from the road that states this is private property. The police do patrol thru here. As this is my home, do you think its lawful for me to carry my weapon concealed or in my pocket(partaly visable). This state has a open carry law Ijust do not want a run in with 5 0 if my shirt covers the weapon cuz of wind or something like that. Carry concealed is legal on your property, Iguess i'm asking does that include the yard area of a apt complex. thanks in advance

Curtis
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

I'm not a lawyer, so take this for what it is, but I think - no. If you were renting a house, then the yard is part of the house, and you could carry in it. But in a multiple-family dwelling, the yard is not just yours, but it belongs to all the tenants. So I don't think "my yard" would cover you.

Why not get a carry permit? Then the problem goes away.
  3. JohnHenry

JohnHenry Well-Known Member

Pretty sure that Alpo is correct .... you're only renting the space inside the walls.

My daughter and her family live in Cary N.C. and that's the way it's been explained
    to her.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  4. Curtis R

Curtis R New Member

cool my daughter lives in cary also. As far as getting my ccw, it's in the works
  5. bobski

bobski Former Guest

is the yard common space?
    or is it sectioned to your apt only?
    and...what is your land owners rules in the lease?
    you are borrowing land when you rent.
    he owns it.

if you dont have a ccw license, you cant carry it ccw. if you have a open carry law, does it require a license? if so, and you dont have it, you best keep that heat out of public view.
  6. bobski

bobski Former Guest

might be a good reason to ask the landlord what his policy is.
  7. Munch

Munch Member