Back packs any experts on them here?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jack404, Jul 7, 2012.

1. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Jack, those small packs are great for those "grab-N-go situations, but if you want to "carry a heap", you might want to look at something with a frame. I have one like you posted, but I use it for the car. It carries extra ammo, and some things I think I might need in an emergency situation, if stranded on the road. For really moving out with some gear, take a look at these: http://www.ebags.com/product/high-sierra/titan-65/210783?productid=10127370 I'm no expert, and am not recomending these bags, just trying to show you what I would want on a trip into the wilderness.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  3. 22to12gauge

22to12gauge Former Guest

I am not an expert but I have a Kelty Trekker 64 external frame pack. I like it and recommend it. Carries roughly 45lbs well. It's my bug-out-for-good-bag.
  4. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

http://www.kelty.com/p-431-trekker-64.aspx

see thats better its got a place for a bed roll under ..

i carry 4-8 lb of salt when i cross country

hides that i keep i salt or they stink fast

been reading about the Kelty frames , beats my old alice rig ;)
  5. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    That frame will take a lot of the load you are carring, and distribute it around your hips. Lets you carry more without feeling it so much.
  6. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

I wear a web belt with some basic pouches and a couple water bottles

tinder kit first aid and knife and ammo in the basic pouches and on belt

i have a "traditional" woodsmans bag for ball and a powder horn set that has the big tinder set and char cloth and other shooting things and another knife ( swiss army) and some paracord