beginner looking for answers

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by cadena, Apr 26, 2012.

1. cadena

cadena New Member

So I am new to all of this and was looking into it and am having trouble finding the equipment I would need to just start making 9mm ammo for any hand gun.

For example I was looking at the moulds on the rcbs page and found four different types of 9mm moulds...can anyone tell me the difference and what kind I would need?

82027 - BULLET MOULD 9MM-124-CN 402
    82026 - BULLET MOULD 9MM-115-RN 115
    82062 - BULLET MOULD 9MM-124-RN 401
    82063 - BULLET MOULD 9MM-124-RN-TG 115

???????????

And then the presses and the priming, I'm not sure how that works so if someone could point me in the direction of a book or manual that explains all of this or could someone explain...many thanks
  2. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum don't worry u will get all the help u need on here and don't be afraid to ask questions, i asked a million, someone will be along to help u
  3. Appliancedude

Appliancedude Active Member

Are you wanting to cast your own bullets? Do you have a source of lead? IMHO it would be better to start with pre cast bullets and make sure this is a hobby you want to pursue. Then worry about the casting side to reloading. Just my 2 pennies
  4. joncutt87

joncutt87 Active Member

The molds are for different weights and nose shapes.
  5. cadena

cadena New Member

It is a hobby I want to persue and I'm trying to cast my own bullets so I would like to try and figure out which mold I would need. And yes I have a source of lead, I work at a scrapyard.

And I'm not sure what you mean, sorry but you must understand that I'm 19 and I've owned two handguns so far. A ruger and a p30 and have always bought ammo from the store so I'm not sure what you mean when you say its for different weights. Nose shapes I understand.
  6. jack404

jack404 Former Guest