Best .22 pistol for Long term use

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by Tezz7300, Feb 8, 2012.

1. Tezz7300

Tezz7300 New Member

Hello I am new to these fourms and will be on a lot. I recently graduated from college and am looking to purchase one .22 cal LR rimfire pistol. Due to limited funds and the fact I love to shoot I am seeking advice on the best possible pistol for both small game hunting (rabbits, squirrals, etc) and plinking. This leads me to my question I am only able to afford one fun shooter for several years, I shoot a lot and am seeking a gun that will allow several hundred thousand rounds to be put through over the next few years. Typically I run through 2-3k rounds on a average weekend. I have narrowed my choices to 2 particular models the Ruger sp101 revolver in .22 cal or the semi Mark III ruger .22 cal. Do any other owners of these particular models notice problems after short or long periods of time? If so what and what one would you recommend? also how is the quality build of these models and how much do you shoot. Thanks.
  2. Donnie D

Donnie D New Member

I have a Sig Sauer Mosquito and my wife has a GSG 1911 and a Browning Buckmark. We love all 3 guns, but probably the most accurate and dependable would be the Buckmark.
    Donnie D
  3. rcairflr

rcairflr Well-Known Member

2000 - 3000 in a weekend? That is a lot of shooting. I would also have to say the Browning Buckmark. I've had mine for about 18 years and it has been flawless.
  4. One Shot

One Shot Active Member

You won't go wrong with the Ruger Mark III.

(I have the Mark II)
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  5. cpttango30

cpttango30 Guest

Any of the above.
  6. 3/2 STA SS

3/2 STA SS Active Member

Ruger MKIII...I swear mine is like a hand held rifle. A good MKII is also a fine choice and you can pick up a good used one for $250.
  7. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member