best ammo for a ruger 9

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by mirage154, Nov 30, 2009.

1. mirage154

mirage154 New Member

what is the best ammo for a ruger 9mm automatic? I have used some generic types but get a lot of FTE ??? is the amount of grain in the bullet a cause? too little = not enough power to fully blow back the slide and completely eject?? please forgive the stupidity of my question, but I am a newbie to this world of guns and want to be able to depend on my weapon... one that jams every other round is just not going to work....
  2. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

odd you're having problems with a ruger . they are known to be very reliable with various types of ammo. is the gun new ? what are you using now? some guns require a "break in " period. if new try using ball ammo until it breaks in. after that anything should work well. by ball ammo i mean fmj full metal jacketed non hollow point use 115 grain or the 124/125 grain stay away from the heavier stuff ie 147 grain at leat until you get the bugs worked out
  3. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member

Limp wristing. Get a firm grip on the pistol before firing and see if the FTE goes away..
  4. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

:D good point but i'm always reluctant to say any guy has a limp wrist :p
  5. ninjatoth

ninjatoth Former Guest

I would like to know the answer to the same question since I just picked up a P95 and haven't got to try more than 8 rounds,and I did get one to stick while ejecting with blazer brass 115s.But I have heard that 2 people can have identical guns,and one will like one kind of ammo,but the other gun won't like that kind so there is really only one way to know what it likes-experimenting.I will probably go with winchester,remington or hornady since I know I can trust them.
  6. johnmpeters

johnmpeters New Member