best noobie reloading set-up?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by focusmaniaczx3, Feb 12, 2010.

1. focusmaniaczx3

focusmaniaczx3 Member

well i was going to be buying some reloading gear from a friend of my uncle's and he went all indian giver on me. i spent 2 days pouring over as much reloading literature i could find and then spent an entire weekend casting and loading ammo with my uncle's friend with him looming over my shoulder but with all of that in mind i AM still a newbie. there is only so much you can learn from reading a book and only so much you can get from one man's opinion so here i am. im just wondering what everyone's idea for the perfect beginner's setup for reloading would be. spare no details because i want to hear them all. everything from presses, dies, manuals, everything. include casting stuff too because ill be doing my own casting. i was actually quite good at that after about the first 50 tries. :eek: but anyhow shoot me what you think would be the best equipment for a newbie to have. simplest, easiest to operate, most idiot proof.
  2. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

I started out with a LEE aniversary kit, still have it and still use it. The bullet moulds are good too and thier casting furnaces. I havent tried much else, LEE equipment works quite well and at 1/3 the cost of comparable equipment...
  3. paradox998

paradox998 New Member

Get the Lee Breech lock challenger kit. Good quality, easy to change the dies, and it does work. I have two and can load pretty much anything. I think a slingle stage is the best choice for a new reloader.
  4. The_Rifleman

The_Rifleman New Member

I also started out with a LEE 50th Anniversary kit, and still use it. I don't shoot all that many rounds so a single stage press is all I need.
  5. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member