Bipolar Disorder & Buying a firearm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tokyo Dreaming, Dec 25, 2011.

1. Tokyo Dreaming

Tokyo Dreaming New Member

Hey guys, I'm 22, Live in Alexandria, Louisiana.
    I've been wanting to own a handgun for shooting at a range and home defense.

Thing is.. I keep hearing two different answers about the legality of someone who has bipolar disorder/on disability.

Really don't know the laws, so I figured I'd ask here and maybe someone could help?

I saw this.. http://www.nraila.org/gunlaws/federal/read.aspx?id=60
    Which made me think, But.. Like I said I keep seeing/hearing yes or no.

So I'm not sure what to think.

Any help would be really appreciated.
    Thanks.

-Phil
  2. Double D

Double D Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Welcome to TFF. Are you an unlawfull user of certain depressant, narcotics or stimulant drugs? Are you adjudicated as mental defective or incompetent or commited to a mental institution? I am no expert on mental heath issues but can you pass a background check? There are many of our veterans who are dealing with issues and are still allowed their 2nd ammendment rights. You know yourself best, are you a danger to yourself or to your family when you have episodes? While I am a firm believer in everyone having the right to exercize their 2nd ammendment rights, there are certain cases that good judgement needs to be used. Bipolar disorder can be a serious issue.
  3. raven818

raven818 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

I can't give a definitive answer, but I will give a little advice, if you want it. If you find yourself qualifying, do not tell your doctor you own a weapon. One never really knows their physicians. It none of their business,anyway.
  4. Tokyo Dreaming

@Double D: Thank you. No, Everything I take is from my doctor, I can pass a background check, and I'm not that bad off, Was when I was a kid but alot better as an adult.