Blunderbuss or blunderbust?

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by kentuk, Aug 8, 2012.

1. kentuk

kentuk New Member

Hello and thanks for taking time to look at my blunderbuss(?). I am a complete noob at this so any help is much appreciated. I've done some snooping around other threads and boards trying to determine if my blunderbuss is really old or an old fake. It is crude and mostly hand made from what I can tell, which made me skeptical. However, I've seen other rather crude looking examples online. Was this made in the Middle East, made for tourists....what's the story? Would they use gold for a tourist item, which I suppose the decoration is? What is the approximate age and where would it have been made?

The trigger mechanism does "work"

Let me know if a different picture would help. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. rhmc24

rhmc24 Member

It looks real and European mid 1700s but need photos with better lighting. Gun would benefit from professional quality cleaning.
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  3. rogertc1

rogertc1 New Member

Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  4. kentuk

kentuk New Member

I'll work on the photos with better lighting tonight. I got it from a fella who said it was his grandfathers, whom reportedly got it from France....

It does have a flash hole.
  5. Jim K

Jim K New Member

I don't think that one is a "Khyber Pass Special". It looks like it was a pretty high quality gun and the decoration does not look Arabic or Asian. Note that the cock appears to be welded, so "snapping" the gun will risk breaking it.

Jim
  6. kentuk

kentuk New Member

Here are a few more photos, perhaps of better quality. It does look as if the gold decoration has been worn off the very tip of the barrel, perhaps from firing. You can also see what looks to be a faint seam inside the barrel. The bumps on the stock are metal. Any other pics that would help?

Overall length: 21"
    Barrel length: 10.75"
    Muzzle: 2"