Bore Cleaning Info

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Neverhome, Oct 8, 2007.

1. Neverhome

Neverhome Member

I will be sighting in my first BP rifle this weekend. This is my first time shooting BP (actually 777) and from what I have picked up on this forum it is recommend to clean the bore after several shots. Is it necessary to remove the breech plug to do this or is a quick bore cleaner patch down the barrel adequate? Rifle is an in line Traditions Pursuit.

All advise is appreciated.

Neverhome
  2. Glockgod

Glockgod New Member

When shooting at the range I use a T/C pre-moistened cleaning patch to keep the crud down every 2-3 shots or so.
    After you are finished for the day it's necessary to clean your muzzleloader no matter what you use for powder. No need to make it rocket science-I use very hot( I bring mine to a boil) water. Squirt a little dishwashing detergent in a plastic bucket, dump in some hot water, stick the barrel into it and swab away. I let the breech plug soak in the bucket while I'm cleaning the barrel. Dry with a few patches and follow up with the rust preventitive of your choice.
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2007
  3. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

There are a lot of good solutions for cleaning between shots, where you just run a wet patch or two down the bore and keep shooting...

I happen to use Hodgon "Spitbath." not necessarily because it's better than any other, but just that it was the first such solution I happened to buy after I bought my first muzzleloader about 15 years ago and it did the job so I stick with it.;):p
  4. Neverhome

Neverhome Member

Thanks for the replys. I always clean my firearms after every day of use
    but what I would like to know is do I have to remove the breech plug every three shots or is it suffiicent to just run a swap down the barrel?

Thanks,:)

Neverhome
  5. Glockgod

Glockgod New Member