Brass frame Pistols?

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Brushpopper, Jun 13, 2011.

1. Brushpopper

Brushpopper New Member

As someone new to BP pistols,I was wanting to know what are the problems associated with brass frame pistols? Is a brass frame pistol safe to fire with a live charge?
  2. remington1990

remington1990 New Member

The brass frame is fine for shooting live rounds but don't over load it. Or it will expand the brass I think dixies gun works said 20 to 25 grams I shoot up to 30 grams in my steel frame 1858 remington army I like the look of the brass frame but I like steel better but I ain't an expert on them I am just starting out myself too
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  3. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

About 18 grains in a .36 and 25 in a .44
  4. Jim K

Jim K New Member

Brass frames were used in the old days because they were easy to cast and were adequately strong for the BP loads then in use. Steel was recognized as better, but the ease of working with brass (especially in the absence of heavy machinery) was sometimes more important.

In a percussion revolver the difference in strength is less of a problem than in a cartridge revolver because in a percussion gun the whole cylinder recoils into the frame boss, a strong part of the frame. In a cartridge gun, the recoil of the cartridge is further up on the frame where there is more of a lever arm force and even if there is a top strap, the frame can be overstressed.

FWIW, many repro guns today are actually made of brass, but the old guns were made of bronze, or gun metal, a somewhat stronger material.

Jim
  5. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

That's true. Gunmetal was bronze with a high copper content, sometimes called red brass. Also there were no brass .44's back in the day.
  6. stewswanson

stewswanson New Member