Brown Bess?

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by Canfield, Mar 8, 2012.

1. Canfield

Canfield New Member

Hello - this is my first time on the site. This flintlock has been in a friend's family since the mid-1800's (I'm in Ontario, Canada). It appears to be a Brown Bess but is strangely lacking in markings. Total length is 57 inches, with a 42 inch barrel. No words (tower, etc) anywhere on the lock. On top of the barrel, at the rear, is stamped something that resembles a flower, and below that a clover (maybe) with two crossed swords or something beneath. No other identifying marks. There is no brass plate on the left side where the screws hold the lock in place. .75 caliber, I believe.
    Any help in identifying this gun would be appreciated. Here are some photos -

http://s1077.photobucket.com/albums/w471/Canfield3/
  2. BlackEagle

BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

A very warm welcome to the forum, Canfield. You have certainly come to the right place. Perhaps one of the mods will move this to the Ask The Experts and What It's Worth section, but I'm sure someone will be able to help you.

Your flintlock looks like a fine piece.

Enjoy the forums. You will fine we are an international group and there is a wide range of interesting topics of discussion.
  3. Jim K

Jim K New Member

Well, it is not a Brown Bess. There is no sideplate and the trigger guard is wrong, plus there is no crown or maker's name on the lockplate.