building a 10/22

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by Smokin Guns, Mar 8, 2003.

1. Smokin Guns

Smokin Guns New Member

jackcows
    (3/27/02 4:18:37 pm)
    Reply building a 10/22
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I'm thinking about building a 10/22 to drive tacs. From what I've seen so far, most everything gets replaced but the receiver/bolt assembly. Do I need to start with a complete gun and toss the replaced parts or can I find a receiver/bolt assembly and add things from there? It's my first time on your site, looks like fun.

LIKTOSHOOT
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/27/02 4:29:54 pm)
    Reply Re: building a 10/22
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Well Welcome, just cruise the threads below. You`ll find plenty of starting or tweaking threads. I suggest just buying a complete rifle...new/used, your choice. The receiver and bolt will cost almost the same......so get it all, then sell off what you remove. Basic skills are all thats required, only limited by your wallet. Regards LTS
    T.F.F.

Zigzag2
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/28/02 7:20:44 am)
    Hello and Welcome Jackcows, Liktoshoot is quite familure with this task at hand. Question is... is money an issue?

jackcows
    (3/28/02 1:24:17 pm)
    Reply building a 10/22
    yes, somewhat, might string this project over a little time when funds are available. Would I be alot better off finding a completed gun (cheaper?). Is the 10/22 target model any good? gunsmoke.com didn't think much of it but how big a difference is there? If buying someone elses completed project, what does a guy look for and where is the best place to look... auction arms, local gun dealers? It would be fun to do it on my own if it's not too tough.

Zigzag2
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/28/02 2:07:17 pm)
    Jackcows, here is a cut + paste from and earlier post of mine.