Butter or no butter

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by TxBlackPowder, Jan 8, 2011.

1. TxBlackPowder

TxBlackPowder New Member

I was recently told that if I put the wad on top of the powder, then the ball, I don't have to "butter" the end of the cylinder. Is that true? I've been putting powder..wad..ball..butter, then capping the nipple. But if I could skip the "butter" step I wouldn't complain. Of course, if I have a chain fire, I would probably complain a little.

Thoughts?
  2. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

Yes, you can skip the "butter".

I have been shooting blackpowder for many years. I stopped using "butter" in the 1980's when I discovered Wonder Wads.

I have fired thousands of rounds from cap-and-ball revolvers in practice and in competition. I have never had a chain fire with Wonder Wads.
  3. flintlock

flintlock Well-Known Member

I was going to suggest Womder Wads too, but now I can just say they worked well for me!
  4. redwing carson

redwing carson Former Guest

So many are spooked by chain fires. I have been shooting BP handguns for 50 years. I have never seen a chain fire. Chain fire occurs if it does from loose caps or bad nipples. The chain fire happens in the same way a flint lock fires as the heat passes over the chamber port. Any way if it does happen it likely will not hurt any thing. Ball over wad is a great way to go.

RC
  5. TxBlackPowder

TxBlackPowder New Member

The person that suggested skipping the butter also suggested Wonder Wads. Looks like thats the plan from now on! Really glad to hear that. I hated the mess that goes along with buttering the cylinders.

Thanks everyone
  6. thomasray

thomasray Member

Let me tell you. In 68 it was. I got me a pristine 62 Impala with a white top. And I had a bald blonde to ride shotgun, that's how pretty that car was.