Buy C&R then Sporterize?

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by Contenderizer, Jul 4, 2010.

1. Contenderizer

Contenderizer New Member

I am thinking of buying a Mauser and sporterizing same. Should I buy it with my C&R, or does that create a problem when I convert it? I plan on replacing the stock and trigger.

I'm guessing I should keep it off my bound book and just buy it outright.
  2. oneshot onekill

oneshot onekill New Member

The only way I could imagine there being any issue would be if you converted it to fire a round that has been more recently developed than in the last 50 years. Even then it would only affect you when you sell it. But I'm not an expert or BATF. Check with them.
  3. deadin

deadin Well-Known Member

I hate to post my answer as it will probably start one of those long fruitless discussions about just how a C&R license should be used about buying" on or off" the book.

Anyway, by changing major parts (i.e. the stock) you will cause the gun to lose it's C&R status. Were it me I would just log it out of my book as "No longer qualifies as a C&R due to modifications", or something similar.
    (Kind of like how a FFL01 logs a gun out of his dealers book as being transferred to his private collection.)
  4. Jim K

Jim K New Member

You might be better just buying the gun and avoid the C&R issue. BATFE takes the position that the C&R license is for collecting curios and relics, not buying them to modify or sell. If you do decide to sporterize a gun you bought under the license, I agree with deadin about just logging it off the C&R book, since it is no longer part of a collection (not being a "curio/relic" any more).

But note that if you buy the gun with the intent of sporterizing it and selling it, you would be considered not just a dealer but a manufacturer as well if anyone wanted to push the issue.

Jim
  5. Contenderizer

Contenderizer New Member