buying land to cash rent out (what do I need to know)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by strozt, Nov 12, 2012.

1. strozt

strozt New Member

My apologies if this inappropriate...this is my second thread since joining and I'm ignorant of board etiquette.

I'm looking to buy some farm land that is being cash rented for the next three years. Before I decide to purchase, I want to make sure I'm learning something about what I should consider. Note: I have no farming experience and am buying the land for investment ;).

I figure before I make an offer, I'd like to see the current contract for the rental agreement and probably meet with the tenant to get a feel for their present and future plans on using the property. (I've been told the agreement is for 40 acres at $175/acre; for 3 years)

Frankly, thats all I can think of. Surely there is something else I should watch for or consider. Would any of you out there be able to advise me on what I should know before I buy the property.
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF and your question is just fine for the GenDiscussion board; this is just fine to post here. I'm not knowledgeable on your question, so I can't give a good answer. There are a few folks here that may be able to give you some pointers though; just give'em a little time to check your post and reply.

Semper Fi,
    Woolley
  3. SmallCaliberGuy

SmallCaliberGuy Active Member

For starters, go to your local county or city treasurers office and research the land.
    Make sure the taxes are paid up.
    Make sure there are no leins on the property. Especially IRS leins, if it has an IRS lein then you become liable for what is owed.

Jody
  4. jjmitchell60

jjmitchell60 Active Member

Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o
    THere is lots of questions to be ask in you question.
    What is teh land being rented for as to use, livestock or crops?
    What rights do you retain as land owner?