Buying My First Handgun. Please Help!

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by Guest, Feb 23, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

qwert
    (1/8/03 7:17:48 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Buying My First Handgun. Please Help!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey guys,
    I've decided to purchase my first handgun for self-defense. I'm seriously looking at a Sig p232. But I'm up for some suggestions.

Gun must be:
    Concealable
    Dependable (Very Important)
    Automatic (though not totally ruling out revolvers)
    Price: Max $500.00

Any help would be appreciated. Note I'm new to handguns so ease of use and dependability are very important.

Thanks

shooter45 us
    *TFF Chief Of Staff*
    (1/8/03 10:43:06 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Buying My First Handgun. Please Help!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The first step is going to a gun shop and picking a few pistols or revolvers that "feel good" to you. Something that fits you hand well. Some ranges rent guns. Check with friends who own handguns and shoot what they have. You may find something you like.

ruffitt
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (1/9/03 4:15:47 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del
    ezSupporter
    Re: Buying My First Handgun. Please Help!
    First off,

Hope you enjoy yourself here and will be coming back often.

If, as you state, you are new to handguns, it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to attend a class or two relating to gun or hunter safety in your local area (providing you aren't already a "long gun" owner/shooter who is already familiar with firearm safety). You can do this any time, before or after, following the advice shooter45us gave you.

Edited by: ruffitt at: 1/12/03 6:13:42 am

(1/11/03 8:22:37 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Handgun thoughts
    I want to echo and expand on the comments of the others.