1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Buying Rifles Online?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 2nd Amendment, Jun 23, 2012.

1. 2nd Amendment

2nd Amendment New Member

I am totally new to this business (firearms). I have looked into all the laws and regulations, and I am allowed to purchase long guns. So as I am trying to figure what to buy, I stumbled upon online sellers.

Now I could not find any legal code regarding purchasing a firearms online. How does this usually work? Any trusted sites you know?

Thanks for your response in advance.
  2. jlloyd73

jlloyd73 New Member

I have used Bud's once. You basically pay them for the firearm. They send it to a local FFL (of your choosing). You go to the FFL and pay a transfer fee (varies on the FFL, sometimes as low as $15, sometimes as high as $50).... they do the background......... and that's about it.
  3. mogunner

mogunner Well-Known Member

I bought a Saiga from Classic Arms. Had my FFL fax them a copy of their license the day before ordering. Ordered and paid for the rifle. Waited for it to arrive at my FFL. Paid him $25 for a "facilitated transfer'' which included the 4473. If you buy from Bud's, they have a list of FFL's who have already placed their license on file with them. Some of them, usually highlighted at the top of the list, have agreed to take any and all shipments from Buds, you don't even have to contact those particular dealers, just order, pay, when it arrives, fill out the 4473 and as long as you pass, pay their transfer fee and take your new purchase home. Other than that, you can find an area FFL and ask them regarding transfers.
  4. bamajoey

bamajoey Well-Known Member

Whittakers in Owensboro Ky. is good to work with, as well as Buds. I've bought from both with no problems:thumbsup:
  5. soundguy