C. Gove shotgun, Semple Kentucky, James Constable Shotgun

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by popcan, Oct 23, 2009.

1. popcan

popcan New Member

Hi everyone.
    I am in the position of selling off my late father-in-laws collection and have been able to find info on most every thing except a few last ones.
    1. C. Gove double bbl 10 ga. percussion shotgun. I can find some information on Carlos Gove of Denver but not much on guns other than the single shots he modified.

2. James Constable 16 ga. double bbl percussion shotgun. I can find no info on the maker at all.

3. Hardest one. Very old fullstock kentucky converted to percussion somewhere along the line, looks like .50 cal lock reads Semple & Sons, Louisville. I have heard through one of my father-in-laws associates that it might be worth a significant amount but can't find anything in print about it or Semple & Sons etc.

I am a newbie here as you can tell so if you could advise me what kind of info, pictures, measurements are needed to identify these items I would be in your debt.

There is also an original Alex Henry, a Turner 4 bore, a rifle by Collins and a Turner rifle,(all original) but I'm not researching those right now, but I will have to focus on them soon.
    Thank you for any help you can give me.
  2. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member

First we need to narrow the field down to country. Please pull the front wood and describe all the markings and the complete markings on the shotgun itself. If there are no proof markings under the forearm, then it is U S made, the US has never had a Nation Proof house. Proof markings will look like crossed spears under a Crown , perhaps a Crown over a Lion, ELC in a circle or oval, you get the ideal. Describe them the best you can. We really need pictures to help you.:)
  3. deadin

deadin Well-Known Member