C.O.L.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Genokumite, Jan 2, 2010.

1. Genokumite

Genokumite New Member

I am new to reloading. I actually bought all my equipment in November 09. I have yet to reload my first round. Just reading and learning right now. I have three manuals right now Hornady, Lyman and Nosler. My question is why does Nosler only give the maximum C.O.L. I am going to try to load a 150 grain partition spitzer in 30.06. Can I use the specs for the 150 grain (C.O.L.) in the Lyman and or Hornady manuals. Max is 3.34 in Nosler which is all the Nosler manual gives and 3.23 C.O.L in Lyman and Hornady. May be petty but I want to be safe. Thanks for your input in advanced.
  2. Lotsdragon

Lotsdragon New Member

HI and welcome to the forum, one place that can answer a lot of you r questions is the IMR website.Looking at my lee dies I see that 3.340 inchs is the max. There aint no petty questions when it comes to reloading, take your time do it right or you will regret it immensly. Have fun and be safe!
  3. Gearheadpyro

Gearheadpyro New Member

It is likely due to the Nosler bullet being just a little bit longer than the others. Use the information from the bullet manufacturer you are using, if you have that manual. Otherwise I would go with the 3.23" C.O.L.

The factory C.O.L. which is listed in the manual is a good starting point. Each gun will have a different maximum C.O.L. though. You will need to tune your ammunitions C.O.L. to your gun in order to get the best group sizes. That's one of the many benefits to reloading.

I wrote an article on load development that will help you out with this (still working on a few of the linked pages). (http://www.rifles-shooting-reloading.com/load-development.html)
  4. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest