The Firearms Forum banner

Can anyone identify these rifles?

6K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Bindernut 
#1 ·
I inherited these two rifles through my father, who got them from his father with no real explanation as to what they are or where they are from. I don't think the stocks are original, and as far as brand markings, I can't make anything of them. But I'm no expert, after all.

I'm fairly certain that they are at least WWII or further back, and the insignia on the black one reminds me of Mussolini's symbol of fascist Italy, but I haven't been able to find anything online through research by myself.

Can anyone help me identify these? I would like to get the registered, but honestly, I have no idea how to label them.

The wood-stocked one says:
"Carl Gustafs Stads Gevarsfaktori", with what looks like a date under it, but its now blocked by a hole that was from scope mounts that were on the gun when I got it. There are also little crown symbols with a capital C.

The black one just has that symbol, with Z6704, and what looks like Cal. 7.52

I don't really have much else to say, I've taken them apart but there isn't really much else on there.
Can anyone help me out? Any information would be awesome!

Thank you! Cody S.

PS, I'm sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong place, I'm new to this site!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to TFF.

You came to the right place for all your firearm questions. About all I can tell you is that they both have been sporterized. The real gurus will be by shortly.

#3 ·
That sword over the funky axe, pic #2, is Spanish. 1916 Spanish Mauser, and was originally 7x57 Mauser, but as can be seen in the 4th pic, it's marked 762, so it's been rechambered to 7.62 NATO. That pebble-finish plastic stock is a replacement.