Can anyone tell me anything about this bayonet?

Discussion in 'Knives & Edged Items' started by netexasemt, Oct 13, 2011.

1. netexasemt

netexasemt New Member

Can anyone please tell me anything about this bayonet? I cannot find any name stamp or marking, the only markings I can find at all are on the end of the handle and they appear to be hand stamped one number at a time as they are not perfectly aligned and spaced. The number is 021378. I assume thats the serial number but why no other markings? The blade length is approximately 15 1/8" and the overall length of the bayonet not in the sheath is approximately 20 1/4". Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

looks to be a early lee enfield , i may be wrong as i am no expert on bayonets

No. 1 MkIII "SMLE"Short Magazine" version of 1907 pattern is my guess
  3. netexasemt

netexasemt New Member

Thank you Jack, I'll look into it and see if I can find an approximate value. Need to know for the insurance company, I don't plan on parting with it. Thank you again.
  4. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

http://www.skennerton.com/edgedweapons.html

contact Ian , send him a email with the pics from here or a link and ask if he'll confirm what it is for you , he's a very nice bloke and i'm sure he'll do so ..

but your looking at $250-$300 as a basic price and it goes up from there

if its a US remington made one add another $200

the scabard is the thing of interest to me , it has the ball end and somewhere i have read they are rare and special but forget why , i'm not a expert just something somewhere if i remember right stated this so value may be way up on what i have stated or i may be totally wrong but do mention that to whom ever you consult

cheers
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011
  5. jack404

jack404 Former Guest