Cartridge Colapse

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by mharrell11, May 1, 2009.

1. mharrell11

mharrell11 New Member

I need some guidance. I have been loading 40 Cal S&W cartridges with 200gr FMJ bullets without a problem. However, I started loading 155gr Hollow Points yesterday and found that the cartridge is colapsing. I am confused as to why the 200gr works find and the 155gr hollow point doen not.

I also noticed that the metal jacket is sliding up the bullet.

The attached image shows what is happening. Some are worse than others.

Can somebody tell me what I am doing wrong?

My equipment is RCBS.

Mike Harrell

Attached Files:

2. Gene Seward

Gene Seward Member

I had the same thing happen while setting up my dies for .40. Try setting your expander die a little deeper.
  3. mharrell11

mharrell11 New Member

Since I am new to reloading, I have one question. The RCBS Die Set has 3 dies, 1 for the Sizer/Deprimer, 1 for the 40 S&W and 1 for 10mm. When you refer to the Expander, I assume you are referring to the Size/Deprimer Die.

The expander is part of the deprimer on the RCBS die set.

Thanks

Mike
  4. 3ME

3ME New Member

It looks like you are not getting quite enough bell on the mouth of the cases and as the bullet is being seated, it there is so much friction that it crushes the case. Adjust so you are getting a good open bell and that should fix it.
  5. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

It looks, to me, that instead of screwing your bullet seater stem down more, to seat the shorter bullet, you screwed your entire die down more. This is causing your case to start to crimp too early. I base this opinion on the extremely heavy roll crimp on that shell, while the bullet is not ever completely seated. Also, when I first started loading, I had the die down too far with bottleneck rifle cases, and collapsed the shoulder. I didn't think it was possible to collapse a straight-wall case, but you seem to have succeeded.