The Firearms Forum banner

case prep (newbe)

1K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  76Highboy 
#1 ·
Hi all. I am getting ready to order equipment for reloading. Been researching for a few weeks now and getting a handle on what I want to start with. The biggest area I'm still undecided on is case prep. There seams to be two major schools of thought. Wet with a thumbler or dry with a vibrator. I'll be doing 9mm and 10mm to start with if that makes a difference.
Two questions
- wet or dry (I've read only 1 pound of cases a load for wet. Isn't that about 100 cases of common semi auto handgun? If you store your brass up and do 500 to 1000 rounds of a caliber at a time thats a whole lot of cycles.)
- if dry what brand and size. I don't want to wast money, but I use tools for a living and know the cheep tools don't alway end up being so cheep if it get used a lot. I would call 3-4 hours run time 2+ times a month a lot of run time.

#2 ·
I use a dry tumbler with white rice for media.
I now use a Frankford Arsenal quick-n-ez
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/587176/frankford-arsenal-quick-n-ez-case-tumbler-110-volt
I bought it local for $32
Use 2lbs of rice with 300-400 .357 brass [for example] and tumble 1.5-2 hrs
When rice gets dirty I replace it.
Only problem I have is IF I need to tumble with no spent primers, the rice
will stick in some of the flash holes, but I had that problem with other media also.
I have had this tumbler a couple of years, tumble 3000+ brass/week

#4 ·
In my vibratory tumbler I do as many as 200 pistol and 100 rifle. I can do more but i
It seems the more I use the longer it takes.
Sometimes my tumbler runs every evening for a month at a time and mine is over 7 years old. I prefer dry because I can go from cleaning straight to reloading.

#5 ·
In my vibratory tumbler I do as many as 200 pistol and 100 rifle. I can do more but i
It seems the more I use the longer it takes.