Case Sizing Problems

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by bwhunter97, Sep 13, 2009.

1. bwhunter97

bwhunter97 New Member

Hello, I'm relatively new to reloading, but I have successfully reloaded about 1000 rounds of .223 and .308 ammunition. I'm running into a problem, and I'm frankly not sure what to do about it. I fully size all of my ammunition and don't even own a neck sizing die. I seat it in accordance with the exact instructions, and I still end up with about 5% of my bullets slipping loosely in and out of the cases. It's as if I need to crimp the case slightly to keep the bullet in the correct location. If full sizing to the correct depth doesn't work, then what options do you have left and what equipment do I need? These cases are new in some cases (no pun intended), or shot no more than one previous time.

Thanks in advance for the advice.
  2. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

More info please. What brand of dies, bullets, brass? Are you having the same problem with both cartridges? How did you set up your seating die? Are you lubing the inside of the neck before re-sizing?

Seems like you may need to polish the expander button down a few thou.
  3. bwhunter97

bwhunter97 New Member

I do have this problem on both bullets. I'm using RCBS dies for both. As far as bullets go, I've used Hornady, Sierra and Nosler and experienced the same on all of them. I used 55 grain and 50 grain on 223 and 125 grain and 165 grain on .308. The loose rounds shoot, but it's obviously not what I want to be using in the field. I am not lubing the inside of the neck, and maybe that's the issue. I'm currently setting the expander on the full sizing die 1/4" below the base of the die and screwing the sizing die into the press until it touches the seat at full extension and then giving it an additional 1/4" turn in accordance with the instruction manual.
  4. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

What about the seating die? How are you setting that up?