Casting Bullets . . .

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by glassparman, Nov 18, 2011.

1. glassparman

glassparman New Member

Greetings gang!

I've been carting around this 75 pound ingot of lead for many years. I don't have a hardness gauge but this thing seems like fairly hard stuff.

Anybody have any experience with Pacific Smelting? The brownish color is fine sawdust because it is laying in my woodshop.

Does anyone have an idea to see if it is hard enough for casting bullets without using a hardness gauge?

Thanks in advance,
    Michael

[​IMG]
  2. res45

res45 Member

3. muddober

muddober Active Member

First of all pure lead works just fine for target bullets that are well lubed and are not driven over 1,000 feet per second. In other words what do you want to do with the bullets when your done making them? Also you can buy antimony and tin to harden your mixture. A word of caution if you make your bullets so hard as to want to drive them in the 2000 fps range they will not mushroom but rather act more like a brittle yet not very strong solid, fragmenting horribly. As for the hardness tester SACO use to make one that sold for about 20 bucks as I recall. A word of caution it might sell for 200 bucks now because I bought almost all of my stuff at about the same time the wheel was invented.

Ron

Ps: Your next thread is going to be asking how to cut up that chunk of lead so it will fit in a reloaders style pot. My answer is find yourself a friend who is a plumber.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  4. gun-nut

gun-nut Member

I had a 440 LB. chunk that was from a fork truck. I had to use the set of torchies. it took some clear planing to cut it up as it was 8" thick 4' long and 1 1/2' wide. had to slide it to the tail gate of the truck and cut it. put a BIG pan under it to gather the run off.
  5. muddober

muddober Active Member