Casting... Minimum stuffs?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Crpdeth, May 23, 2009.

1. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

I've been reloading for several years now, but just haven't gotten into the whole casting thing yet. Money is tight right now, but I am afraid to wait too much longer if you know what I mean...

What should I buy to start out? I just ordered a .452 mold and ladle, I know that I need a pot and intend to use an old Coleman stove.

I have a ton of hardened lead ingots, anatomy, ww's etc, so I'm good to go there.

What should I concentrate on now? Books, etc?

Remember money is tight... I'm going to be taking my lunch to work instead of eating out, just to afford this stuff, so any economical tips are appreciated as well.

TIA!!!!!

Crpdeth
  2. masterPsmith

masterPsmith New Member

The communist republic of California, Barstow area
    Just some of the equipment you will need are, bullet mould and handle,lead pot (preferably and electric furnace/pot for controlled heat), rawhide or wood mallet, a bullet sizer/lubricator and bullet lube. You already stated that you have lead. Lead is also getting hard to come by these days. Cast in a well ventalated area and do not breath the lead fumes. I would also suggest getting a book on bullet casting and read it well. The initial cost of your equipment is a little high, but, your savings in the long run (if you do a lot of shooting) will be great. You also get the satisfaction of shooting your own bullets.

Jim..........................:)
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

You have three choices when it comes to lubing your bullets, and three when it comes to sizing.

1 - Don't size. Many people shoot the bullets as cast. I don't, but many do.