Ceramic blades

Discussion in 'Knives & Edged Items' started by armedandsafe, May 30, 2004.

1. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest

I just picked up one of those ceramic blades from Sportsmans Guide. Does anyone have any experience with ceramic blades? I do understand they can't be used as screwdrivers or can openers. :D

Pops
  2. pickenup

pickenup Active Member

Nope, can’t use them for screwdrivers or can openers. Now if you are going to use them as a knife, they work great. Hold an edge for what seems like forever. They do break if mistreated, or dropped wrong.

What kind did you get?
  3. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest

I got the little paring knife for $15. I figured that would be good to try out the technology and would be a nice knife for my tackle box. I've only used it a couple of times, but I'm inpressed, so far. Sharp little devil, it is. I'm interested to see how it does on filleting small fish.

Pops
  4. Don Buckbee

Don Buckbee New Member

I'm new to the Knife Forum, and maybe someone has posted what I'm going to mention before.. Sorry if that's the case.
    I understand that the Ceramic blades can't be sharpened by conventional techniques when they do get dull. Anybody have any info on that issue?
    Good to be with knife people... :) I love knives....
    Don
  5. pickenup

pickenup Active Member

Don, first......welcome aboard.

As far as I know (and this could have changed since I last researched it) but since ceramic knives are made with minute ceramic particles that are bonded together with heat (a process called sintering) they can only be sharpened with special equipment using diamond discs, which are not yet available to the public. Not saying that if you have friends in (low) ;) places you cannot get ahold of the equipment to do it. I never tried to find it, as I have not had a ceramic knife that needed sharpening yet. There are several places where you can "send them in" to be sharpened.
  6. Don Buckbee

Don Buckbee New Member