changing bullets with steel cases?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by pighunter1, Jun 13, 2009.

1. pighunter1

pighunter1 New Member

Hey all! I'm new to the board and relatively new to firearms.

I have just bought an inexpensive Mosin-Nagant for pig hunting. I found some really cheap surplus ammo online for plinking and target shooting.

I live in California and many of the areas I will be hunting in will require lead-free ammo.

The cases are steel on this ammo (Bulgarian stuff). Can I just pull the bullets from my surplus ammo and replace them with lead free (Barnes TSX)?

I am pretty new to this so cut me a little slack if I'm missing a few steps here.

I appreciate the feedback.
  2. glocknut

glocknut New Member

Don't do it...

mike
    gn
  3. Suwannee Tim

Suwannee Tim New Member

There are a couple of things that could go wrong:
    The pressure in the new load could be too high.
    The bullet could be loose.
    You need reloadable brass such as Winchester and reload the ammunition properly with the correct bullet. This defeats the purpose of buying the Mosin Nagant to get a cheap set-up. If it was me, I might just use lead type bullets and take my chances. I don't know how risky that is or what it costs if you get caught.
  4. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

what about steel core ammo, there is some of that in 7.62x54 here and there
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  5. johnlives4christ

johnlives4christ Former Guest

well... i dont much if any about reloading and ammunition. so can someone explain why this idea wouldnt work for me? just out of curiousity, because , not knowing, i cannot see why this wouldnt work okay as long as the bullet was inserted to the proper dept, and as long as it was the proper diameter.

i know you cant reload steel casings.... although i dont know why,....so why cant you?
  6. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member