Charge weight ? for a ladder test.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by howlnmad, Oct 28, 2011.

1. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member

I've never done a ladder test before, just wasted a bunch of bullets, powder and primers doing the 5 shot deal over and over. I was sitting at the bench working on some 30-30 brass and got to thinking about doing one on my Marlin 336. I got looking through my manuals and started cross referencing load weights for H-335 powder and 150 grn core-lokt bullets. Out of the five manuals that I checked, I came up with a weight variation from 28 gn min to 35gn max. Should I use these number or just pick a manual and break those down? If i did the math correctly, that should give me .35 grn between each load. 28, 28.35,28.70,29.05,29.4 and so on. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
  2. garydude

garydude Member

If it was me I would start at an even number, say 28 or 29, then go up in 1/2 grain increments.
  3. garydude

garydude Member

OK, found it- here's the link I was looking for. This member frequently posted great videos about load development. This one was for the 30-30. Hope it helps!
  4. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

When i set up a ladder test Howlin I work the charges backwards from MAX in .2 gr increments. I rarely ever find the best load at starting range anyway so 99% of the time I dont start there, unless Im loading for a rickety old milsurp rifle with questionable headspace.

Get your brass ready and primed for loading and start with the max charge of 35 gr. load it and mark the bullet with a fine sharpie marker. Then the next one at 34.8 again loaded and marked with a fine sharpie marker. then 34.6, etc etc etc. until you have 20 rounds loaded and marked. and lastly load yourself 5 foulers of the lowest charge weight in your ladder test. and mark them with an F. then clean your rifle really really well. paying special attention to fouling in the bore. you want to start with a very clean bore.