Check my powder guesses

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Easyshooter, Oct 30, 2011.

1. Easyshooter

Easyshooter New Member

Newbie here sorry. Just picked up a RCBS reloader, powder measurer and bench mounted primer tool for $140 at a gun show, bought new dies for all my guns and now ready to get started reloading. Originaly I figured I would only need two or three powder types for all my calibers but after reading my manual and load data online I found out different. Here is what I am considering buying now:

For my 45 colt and 45 acp; Blue Dot for magnum loads and Unique for regular loads.

Riffles, 25-06, 303 British, 8mm Mauser; IMR4350 and some Varget

223; (60+ grain bullets for my 1-9 twist) Vargret and BL-C(2)

7.62x54R, 7.62x39; Vargret and BL-C(2)

Would like to get by with not having to buy too many different powders so I tried to find ones that would work good for more than one of my guns. These guesses look okay? Also read that just by changing the brand of primer (not from regular to magnum) can affect the pressure. Is that something I need to worry about?

Thanks..
  2. USMCSpeedy

USMCSpeedy Member

I just started reloading myself and am using IMR4350 for my 25-06 as well. So far I've had great results with it using Nosler 115gr ballistic tips.
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

All you need is unique, Varget and 4350.

The Unique can be loaded hot in the .45 colt and is one of the best choices for both .45s anyway.

Thye Varget will cover everything else nicely except the .25/06, it will need the IMR4350 to realize the best performance and accuracy. Varget is my go to powder for the 7.62X54R. Its a little slow for the 7.62X39, so you may have consistency issues there. I might add one other suggestion in IMR4198 for the 7.62X39. it is the ideal brun speed for that short fat little round and also is a great cast bullet powder for all of your rifle cartrdges.
  4. myfriendis410

myfriendis410 Member