clean burning powder

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by DanH, Nov 28, 2009.

1. DanH

DanH New Member

Looking for a clean burning powder. I am reloading a 357 Mag currently using Unique and after firing 50 rounds in my GP100 the gun looks like it has been sitting in the exhaust stack of a freight train. All suggestions appreciated.

Dan
  2. Snakedriver

Snakedriver New Member

I use Winchester 296 for my .357 mag. reloads. It seems to burn clean while giving excellent performance. I've been using it for over 25 years after experimenting with both Red Dot and Blue Dot powders. Both of them were unacceptable performers. Red Dot was real dirty too.

EDIT: I think H110 is the same powder as W296 as an alternate.
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2009
  3. DanH

DanH New Member

thanks for the info Snake I'll give it a try

Dan
  4. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

This sounds unlike unique entirely, it seems to be one of the cleanest burning pistol powders by popular vote. Before you sacrifice your supply of powder try adjusting your load and or crimping technique, or primers. something smells fishy here. Good luck!
  5. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Didn't get my vote, but overall, I find it to be a decent one, certainly one of the better performing powders.

HP38, 296 and Titegroup all are what I would consider clean burners.

"EDIT: I think H110 is the same powder as W296 as an alternate." - Yes i would agree, same as HP38 and 231.
  6. muddober

muddober Active Member