Cleaning antique pistol

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by Slugger9, Mar 15, 2012.

1. Slugger9

Slugger9 New Member

I have a 1904 Iver Johnson .32 revolver. It is in desperate need of a good cleaning as it has not been seen or touched in 2 decades. How should I go about cleaning this antique firearm? How much improvement to the original look can be expected? I am new to the handling of antiques such as this and any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  2. whirley

whirley Member

I have a nickel plated hammerless 5 shot top break S&W in 32 cal. My father carried it before WW1 as a bank messenger. Totally neglected, broken firing pin. I took off the grips, gave it a good brush with Hoppes using a toothbrush, then cleaned the bore and cylinders with patches and Hoppes. Bought a new firing pin and spring from Numerich arms. Bought a box of S&W .32 short cartridges, and it shoots fine. I was surprised that the bore and cylinder cleaned up so well. The nickel plating is well worn, and I wouldn't carry it even as a backup, but even today at 10 feet, it's better than nothing. I'll stay with a more effective modern pistol.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Get a plastic container with a lid, that is large enough to put the gun in. It would be better if it was large enough to lay the gun down on its side.

Remove the grips.

Lay the gun in the plastic container, cover it with kerosene. Put the lid on.

Go do a load of clothes, and when the washing machine starts the spin cycle, set the container on top of the machine and just hold it in place.

The vibration of the machine going through its first and second spin cycle will slosh the kerosene around and vibrate just about anything out of the gun. You should end up with a gun lying in some really nasty-looking kerosene, and a bunch of crap in the bottom of the bucket.
  4. Slugger9

Slugger9 New Member