The Firearms Forum banner

Cleaning media questions from a newbie

1K views 18 replies 14 participants last post by  gdmoody 
#1 ·
I am new to this reloading and purchased a Lyman vibratory tumbler. It came with walnut shell media. I ran a couple of hundred 9mm cases for 3 hours and they did come out nice and shiny but--- many 20% or so had the media packed in the primer pocket and 90% had the flash hole occluded with a single grain of media. I had to physically clean the flash hole with a ice pick. On those that did not have any media packed in the pocket it did a nice job cleaning the pocket, but it is very labor intensive to push out the media from the flash hole. Of course, I got impatient and pissed and managed to poke a hole in my finger twice, but really is this the way it is supposed to work? Would corn cobs be a better choice?

#2 ·
Thats what happens when you clean them after you deprime them. Most guys will leave the primers in for cleaning.

Walnut cleans but doesn't shine. Corncob shines but doesn't get nasty brass as clean.

Reactions: ndfan62
#3 ·
I have a Lyman turbo also and have worn out two motors in the past 35 years. I prefer corncob media, walnut just does not get it shiny enough for me. Three hours won't even touch them, in my opinion, but then, I use the media until it turns to dust. I usually load it up in the afternoon and pour them out the next morning and they look really good.

Like howln said, you need to do the tumbling before you knock the primer out and you won't have the problem with having to clean the flash hole. All of the folks here who wet tumble have basically "talked" me into going to wet tumbling.

By the way, welcome to The Firearms Forum.

#6 ·