Colt .41 cal.

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Tom Reynolds, Apr 3, 2004.

1. Tom Reynolds

Tom Reynolds New Member

This colt is chrome or nickel with some peeling & a little rust around the front of the grip. Hard rubber grips appear org. but are alittle to big. hang over just alittle on the back. Mechanically there is no half cock, full cock just barely holds, locks up so so I'd shoot it ,but, carefully. It has a 4.75 or 4.58 barrel ser. 199196. While I don't know much about the owner & I'm no Colt expert the gun appears org. If you need more information before giving a value, about, let me know what you need. Thanks again Tom
  2. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Tom, a picture would be great. We also need all the markings on the barrel and frame. Serial number would be good also, you can use XX for the last several numbers. Other than that, no way to identify it. If you read the first thread in this post, it will explain all that we need. Thanks and get back to us soon!
  3. CountryGunsmith

CountryGunsmith New Member

Are we referring to a Single Action Army or one of the double-action models (which would not have a half-cock).
  4. Tom Reynolds

Tom Reynolds New Member

Sorry about that, it's the old single action army. Tom
  5. CountryGunsmith

Well, its a First Generation SAA on the smokeless frame made in 1900.

Value range from $800 to a couple thousand. Colt SAA are some of the most heavily collected firearms in the world. I would hesitate to assign a value on one of these sight-unseen, but if you can take digital pics of all angles (I can tell you what shots we'd need) we can go a long way to verifying authenticity and giving you a solid valuation.
  6. Tom Reynolds

Tom Reynolds New Member