Complete NEWBIE

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by .308 shooter, Aug 11, 2008.

1. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

Okay..... I apologize for my total lack of knowledge. I've only reloaded once, and it was a disaster. I was reloading under the tutilage of someone that had done it for years. I wanted good consistent loads with maximum safe velocity for the accuracy. My... let's say.. teacher, mistook that for maximum velocity period. He loaded the cases with maximum powder - per the manual and seated the bullet for maximum length. Needless to say, I had to send my new Savage tactical .308 back to Savage for bolt repair...... Yes, I know - I was lucky. Savage even honored the warranty.

Now.... my question. I've just ordered my own reloading equipment. RCBS Master kit. Basically has everything I need to get started.. with a few minor exceptions. I've downloaded the Hodgdon manual and it only lists the maximum load and doesn't suggest cartridge length or minimum loads or anything.

Where can I find some good manuals and what manuals should I get? I'm doing this from scratch, with basically no real knowledge and would prefer not to have the gun blow up in my face. :)

Suggestions?
  2. Popgunner

Popgunner New Member

Well, the Hodgdon books show starting loads & overall lengths & the set is very good. Speer, Hodgdon, Lee, Sierra, Nosler, Barnes & to a lesser degree Lyman are all good manuals & worth every penny to buy.

www.midwayusa.com

is a good place to buy manuals if you don't have them available localy.
  3. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

Thanks. But should I use the manual for the powder I'm using or the bullet, or a combindation. I was told to use the manual for the powder at one point. Is this valid?

Also, Is there a better powder than others? I had originally purchased BLC-2. But I really don't know anything about it.