Concealed Carry 1911

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by patrol, Jan 7, 2008.

1. patrol

patrol New Member

Im considering going back to tradition and get away from carrying my offduty "striker fired" XD's and Glocks because lately Ive been really into my inside the pant Desantis prostealth holsters so much I got three of them but no longer feel I like the idea of having a no manual safety gun resting muzzle point of contact on my body. What do you guys think is a good CCW 1911. I like the Kimber Ultra carry due to it's shorter barrel and lightweight frame. Give me some idea's guys. thanks
  2. s+w1911

s+w1911 New Member

I just got a Kimber Ultra CDP2. As far as carrying it, it's absolutely fantastic.

I loved it right from the start. I had been carrying a full size s+w 1911 for 6 years, and this gun is such a pleasure after a few hours.

I highly recommend it.
  3. Rott45

Rott45 New Member

For concealed carry, I have a Rock Island CS model which is 3.5 inches. And I also have a Kimber Pro Carry 11. Both are reliable and accurate. 2-3" at 35'.
  4. justdoug

justdoug New Member

All good choices, but PARA HAWG...nuff said. We (my wife and I) have 3 Paras.
    1) SSP
    2) HAWG .45
    3) HAWG 9mm

Never a failure, never a jam, never a nothing. I didn't bother to count the number of 50-100 round boxes of Remington, Winchester, or Federal that have been through these pistols in the last 4 years. The HAWG's, IMHO, are the ultimate in CCW.

Good enough for the elite among our branches of US miltary....
  5. patrol

patrol New Member

I think I have narrowed it down the that Para Slim Hog compact. It is 25oz with a alloy frame and a 3inch barrel and the Kimber Ultra compact.
  6. durk

durk New Member

I have the Kimber Ultra Raptor II and love it!
  7. remchuck

remchuck New Member

mine is a colt 1991 compact.i sometimes carry my rare colt tank officers.both are accurate and reliable.
  8. Pat-inCO

Pat-inCO New Member