Considering getting into reloading, what do I need?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by hkruss, Aug 5, 2008.

1. hkruss

hkruss Active Member

As the title said, I'm thinking about getting into reloading. My question is this; if I just want a bare-bones set up, what equipment will I HAVE to have? If I get into it, I might want to invest more money later, but for now, I just want to know the essential equipment to get started.
    If there are areas I should spend a little more in, then please include your recommendations (you know, maybe something I will wish I had bought in the 'get-go').
    Keep in mind, I have NO knowledge of reloading, so try to keep it in simple terms for my simple mind!
    Thanks in advance
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

Simple, a reloading manual. Don't try or buy anything else until you have read it word for word, cover to cover. I really like the Lyman manual but there will be many opinions on which to buy. If you find out reloading is too big of an endeavor, your out the cost of the book as opposed to several hundred in scrap iron. Good luck, this forum helped me through alot and will usually err on the side of caution.
  3. artabr

artabr New Member

^^^^ +1 ^^^^

312 is dead on and Lyman is a good manual. Get that one and once you decide to start reloading get at least one if not two more different manuals as cross reference.
    Please don't let this intimidate you. I started the same way. I was clueless. :D
    What are you thinking about reloading for?

Art
  4. h2oking

h2oking Former Guest