cva black powder revolver

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by remington1990, Feb 15, 2011.

1. remington1990

remington1990 Member

A local gun shop has 2 bp cva revolver for 200 each I have looked at them they look really good but for 200 I throught I could get new one from cabelas for around 200 new I was wanting to know would a cva be better the the ones from cabelas
  2. c.robertson

c.robertson New Member

NO.

But that depends on which model. I bought a 1858 Remington from Cabela's and am very happy with it.
    The CVA are made by ARMI SAN MARCOS. I have no experience with them but seveal knowledgable people have said they have soft internal parts. I would go with the ones from Cabela's, they are Pieta or Uberti. Uberti being the best. Inspect closely BEFORE accepting purchase or shooting so you can decline or return / exchange in the rare event something is wrong with it.
    good luck.
    cbr
  3. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

That seems just a little high for CVA. Granted it's been a year or two since I went to Friendship but even then they were only about $140-$160 NIB if I remember right. Maybe that is what they bring now though, new.

As for the softness, My son and I put together a brass frame CVA 1851 from a kit about 15 years ago for him and I had trouble getting the timing right, and had to send off for another hammer because I got a little aggressive with the file fitting it, (My fault, not theirs)but it worked fine once we got it right, and shows no discernable wear, although we probably didn't shoot more than 100 rounds of .375 roundballs with 15 grains FFFg through it and haven't shot it in years. But for some reason it does not "feel" like as much "quality" as other makes do, like my Traditions which I THINK is a Pietta.