Cva Buckhorn Magnum

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Jake, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Jake

Jake Member

I just traded for a cva buckhorn magnum BP rifle and was curious if they are any good. Its brand new never shot, except for 3 primers, never loaded. The three primers were from me. The thing that bothers me is the way the thing works. I'm new to BP guns so bare with me. The bolt has to be open for the gun to fire, which just don't seem kosher to me. Pull the trigger and the bolt slams forward and the primer goes off. When the primer goes off the bolt will come part way open and blows fire out. Is that normal? Is it safe to shoot? What will happen with a powder charge in it? Will it blow the bolt open and shoot more fire out or will it damage the gun? Sorry for the dumb questions but I'd rather be safe than sorry!
  2. Johnny Reb

Johnny Reb New Member

Jake
    I would call CVA and make sure there is not a problem, they have had some problems in the past with some of the in-line muzzleloadeers. Check out this video
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=SH9OOwc87_8 hope this helps.
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  3. rdstrain49

rdstrain49 New Member

What appears to be a "bolt" is in all probability the hammer. If the "bolt thingy strikes the cap it is at least functioning as a hammer. No way should the bolt/hammer be blown back by firing the rifle. Blowback of the hammer usually happens when someone has drilled out the nipple in a misguided attempt to improve ignition.
  4. jjmitchell60

jjmitchell60 Active Member

Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o
    They are a good rifle and safe but I have not heard of any that the bolt (which is the hammer) opens on firing so I would call CVA and ask. They have great warrenty. you can get their customer service number off their web site.
  5. Jake

Jake Member