de-capping question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by hotrod1972, Dec 26, 2011.

1. hotrod1972

hotrod1972 New Member

I am new to reloading and have a question. How do you remove un-fire primers from brass? I have some ammo that i dont trust to shoot and want to de-cap to make dummy/practice rounds with. i could just load them in my gun and pop them, but they are still loud enough that the neighbors would probably still call the police..lol
  2. RandyP

RandyP Member

I simply deprime them with my sizing/decapping die. Slow steady stroke, never had one go off yet.
  3. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF Hotrod ! I don't recommend decapping live primers unless you've got safety glasses and check your surroundings just in case one does happen to go off. I usually will pop them in the backyard or WD40 them and then decap. There's always some debate as to whether or not WD actually deadens the primers, but I have struck many WD'd primers and never had a single one go off. On that note, I have decapped several live primers, very gently and steady. Never had one pop. It all comes down to : is it worth the risk, a .04c primer can cause alot of damage if you don't take into consideration that it may detonate. Don't assume that it won't, wear safetly glasses and don't decap them while you have live primers in the tube if you prime on the press.

I used to be adamant about not decapping live primers; but after doing some research and finding out about the de-mil process, along with much discussion here on the forum; I found that with proper precautions, it is reasonable to do so.
  4. mikld

mikld Active Member

+1. I've done this on several occations, no "POPS"...
  5. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

The only time I decap live primers is either when I'm planning on reusing them, or (the occasional) one went in sideways, and is crushed.