Deciding on a press

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Steelerfan55, Aug 17, 2003.

1. Steelerfan55

Steelerfan55 New Member

I have been loading with my stepfather on and off for about 3 years or so now, so I've decided the times come to buy my own stuff. I'm leaning very heavily toward the RCBS master reloading kit. I'm wondering if there are any web sites that have comparisons. Cabela's offers a Lee kit for far less, but I'm kind of leery of it. Ya get what you pay for. If you folks know of any sites, or have any opinions, please help.
  2. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest

You often don't get what you pay for. The equipment from LEE is high quality and sturdy, just not quite as shiny waxed and polished as some of the other brands.

I've used Lee, Lyman, CH and Oehler since the late 40's and have yet to break anything major. I bought the Dillon 500 about 7 years ago and am very pleased with it and the company.

In MY opinion, you would be hard pressed to find any major brand reloading tool on the market today which is of truely inferior quality.

There...that should bring out some comments. :D

Welcome to the addiction,,,errrrr,,,hobby.

And, while I'm at it: WELCOME TO TFF

Pops
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2003
  3. cd45

cd45 New Member

I have been using a Lee for about 15 years, and have had no problems. I use RCBS, Lee and most other brands.
  4. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member Supporting Member

If you haven't checked out a Dillon press, you should.
  5. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Started with a RCBS rockchucker and then bought a Dillon XL-650. Have never looked back and still use the RCBS once in a while.
  6. Gunguy

Gunguy Guest

Welcome Steeler fan: