Defender 5 shot revolver

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by Brickfoot, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Brickfoot

Brickfoot New Member

I am new to guns and want information on 5 shot revolver. Marker defender. I thin .32 caliber. Has wooden grips. round barrel. approx 2" barrel. what is the switch above the trigger and in front of the cylinder? it looks like it has lock mechanism, but it doesn't lock.

I want to ID the manufacturer and date. No serial number is visible. Looks like a .32, but I'm not sure. I just want an ID and cleaning info

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]I
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  2. b.goforth

b.goforth New Member

the pictures posted show this to be a 'defender' manufactured by iver johnson's arms and cycle works between 1873 and 1888. actually the name of the company started out as 'johnson & bye gunsmiths' 1871-1883 then changed to iver johnson's arms co. 1883-1894 and then iver johnson's arms & cycle works 1894-1975.

these defender series revolvers were manufactured in three frame sizes, with calibers ranging from the small frame 22 short rimfire to the large frame 38 and 41 rimfires. the most popular seem to have been the medium frame 32 rimfire. the same revolver was also manufactured under many different 'brand names' just a couple being
    'encore' and 'favorite'. there is no known factory records that have serial number list or production figures but there is evidence these revolver were manufacrured in batches of 100,000, with batch numbers (found under the grips) 1 to 99,999 for each batch and there seem to have been at least one batch (100,000) every two years. this is the reason the only dating that can be done is by era of manufacture which is 1873-1888.