Depriming Unfired Primers

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Tanker6, Mar 31, 2010.

1. Tanker6

Tanker6 New Member

First time poster......

I've been reloading 40 S&W on a single stage press for a few months now, and I've gotten the hang of producing pretty good target ammo. However, when I first started, I had several FTF's. After taking a closer look at what I was doing and how I was doing it, I realized I was crushing the primers at times (although I read Mr. Lee's book telling me not too :( ).

Now, I still have 8-10 loaded rounds that have FTF (and yes, I've tried to fire them more than once with no results). I have a bullet puller on order, but this brings me to my question:

Is it safe to deprime those cases once I remove the bullet and powder? Is it going to go "bang" :eek: ?

Thanks for putting up with a newby.

Chuck
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

I have experienced the same situation. Playing by the rules here, after you pull the bullets and powder you can soak the primed brass in oil to render them unfireable. Now, off the record, I have run them through the resizing die and knocked out a live primer with no kaboom, but I don't recommend you challenge safety rules as a newb.
  3. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

I have deprimed dozens of live primers by running the case through the sizer/deprimer die. Never, not once, did I have a problem.

This is a non-issue for us oldtime handloaders.
  4. dsv424

dsv424 New Member

I have been pushing them out with my deprimer for over 2 years now with out an incident and I have done literally over a couple hundred. I always go nice and easy when I do it and were safety glasses of course. I have even deprimed backwards loaded primers this way with no problems at all. Was a bit nervous when I first tried it but that has long since worn off.
  5. mikld

mikld Active Member