Die Hard Beretta 92F Question

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by Blimp Edwards, Oct 18, 2012.

1. Blimp Edwards

Blimp Edwards New Member

This is a totally random question, being asked by someone that knows just about nothing about guns. I've always wondered about it, though.

In Die Hard, Willis wields a Beretta 92F. This is a semi-auto handgun, yes? So why in that scene where he's hiding in the vent does he pull the hammer back, as if in preparation to shoot, when the terrorists come in? Once the terrorists exit, he sighs in relief in carefully releases the hammer. I'm sure there's a reason but I could never figure out what it was. But again, I'm a complete novice.

Dan
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Double action only is when you pull the trigger, and cock the hammer. This requires a lot more trigger pull, and a lot more trigger travel. Single action, cock the hammer, and you eliminate the long trigger pull, and the "stacking" of the trigger. This will give you the most accurate shot you can make.
  3. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

all theatrical drama building. I don't know the exact scene that you're describing, it's been awhile since I've seen the movie. What I do know is that the 92F does not need to have the hammer pulled back to fire if there is a round in the chamber. It's a DA/SA design. Double action of the trigger sets the hammer on the first pull, then the action sets the hammer on subsequent shots with a single action trigger pull.
  4. Blimp Edwards

Blimp Edwards New Member

Understood. Thanks!

Dan
  5. fourniermod11

fourniermod11 New Member

keep targer in line and confirme the security not engage...
  6. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Blimp Edwards:

From the situation of the hammer down and a live round in the chamber you have two ways of firing the Beretta.