Difference between 1911 and regular pistol?

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by bigred6906, Aug 17, 2006.

1. bigred6906

bigred6906 New Member

I'm new to the gun scene and I hear many people praising "1911" pistols. What makes the 1911 type pistol different from the rest?
  2. pickenup

pickenup Active Member

Beats me. :p

Maybe I'm not the right guy to answer your question. :D

Someone should be along shortly, that can. ;)
  3. southernshooter

southernshooter New Member

Parts aside it mainly comes down to Frame size and overall design
  4. Marlin

Marlin *TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*

The 1911 is pure John Browning metal; the others are, mainly, plastic/tupperware molded to look like the 1911.

:D :D :D :D
  5. Deputy Dawg

Deputy Dawg Active Member

Just can't beat that tupperware feeling.:D
  6. berto64

berto64 Active Member

bigred,

The 1911 is popular because of it's heritage, history and reliability. And it does have that 'all steel' thing going for it.

Most older US veterans that carried one in the service still swear by them. I know I do. All three of mine are dependable shooters from the gitgo!
  7. Ursus

Ursus New Member

I don't know how do you define "regular" but the answer to your question would be easier if I coul'd know that. Generally, in my book, it has to do with the single action mode, wich allows easier hits.

Its a very ergonomic design. Put one, flat in you open hand, cocked and locked and, as you close your hand you´ll see that you are depressing the grip safety, gripping the butt, taking the safety off, and pressing the trigger in one simple and natural motion.(Closing you open hand).
    Sorry I have to leave to work so as Arnold said: "I'll be back!".
  8. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Hi big red.....welcome to TFF! :)

That's a deceptively tough question, but here's my best take on it......