Difference Between 45 ACP and 45 Colt Bullets

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by saustin692, Aug 10, 2009.

1. saustin692

saustin692 New Member

I am new to reloading for the 45 Colt. Is there a difference between the 45 ACP bullet (projectile) and the 45 Colt bullet?

I have quite a few 45 ACP bullets and want to know if I can use them in the 45 Colt.
  2. Claude Clay

Claude Clay New Member

Lyman's #49 reloading manual [or its equivalent] is required to be on any loading bench.
    r e a d it and understand enough to be able to know where in the book all the answers to your questions are.
    after you can do this--start reloading with powder & primes & projectiles.
    harsh?, not considering the consequences of depending in intenet advice vrs T"he Book"

i load these calibers and can answer you from memory--but i would still verify at the book befors i made a single bullet.
    besides, you will have other questions and more after that also. the answers are all in that book for about $20.00
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  3. Haligan

Haligan Active Member

Alittle harsh, but very, very correct.
  4. saustin692

saustin692 New Member

Thanks. I don't think that is harsh at all. It is very good advice.

I am using the Speer Reloading Manual and it implies that the two are the same diameter so they should be interchangeable.

I surmise after looking at it that they use the same bullets but I wanted to get an answer, or opinion, from someone who has experience successfully reloading both 45 ACP and 45 Colt cartridges.

The Speer manual has been my bench reference manual for reloading for many years now.
  5. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Yup, they are the same diameter.
    The biggest problem can be most .45ACP bullets don't have a crimp groove (or cannelure)