Dillon 550B/650 comparison

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Boria, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Boria

Boria New Member

I have been doing some research on these two presses. I really like the 650 since it is a little more progressive. I was wondering if some one could give me some disadvantages between the 550b & 650 other than price. I am planning on loading 9mm, 45 acp, 30-06, .243.

There seems to be a lot more 550 users than 650 users. Is the 650 more limited or complicated to switch from one round to another? Is it possible to disengage the turret on the 650 and turn it manually?

I have some knowledge of progressive presses. I have been loading 12 ga shotshells on a MEC 9000 with automate for around five years. I prefer the least steps to get a finished round on a press.
  2. ejkoechling

ejkoechling Well-Known Member

I like the 550 due to the fact I can check things as I'm loading. I have no experience with a 650 though
  3. zant

zant Active Member

I don't like auto-indexing...my 550 has spit out beautiful rounds for over 20yrs...good enough
  4. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

I have only used the 650, I couldn't stand a 550 after using it. Highly recommend spending the extra bucks and getting the full progressive.

Swithching calibers is easy and takes less than 5 minutes if that plus you can buy additional blocks to keep all your stuff set up.
  5. ozo

ozo Well-Known Member

A few more amenities can accommodate the 650
    My choice with the 550 was simply the manual indexing.
    The 550 can be as fast with the basic set-up.....
    you get used to the manual indexing...

I will not load to the speed capacity of either,
    if only from a safety point of view.....
    I want to check my stuff on occasion, and the 550
    seems to allow me more comfort in that area.

Either press is awesome.

For the record, I probably average 200 rounds/hour.
    I could increase it.....but I see no need.
    I load rounds by the 100