Do components degrade in cold temperatures?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by CampingJosh, Nov 9, 2011.

1. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Well-Known Member

I'm still very new to reloading, but I don't remember reading this anywhere.

My reloading room is set up in an out building that is not generally climate controlled. During the summer, interior temperatures never get past 90*, but the winter gets far more extreme. We will likely have periods of several days where the high temperature won't break 25*.

I currently have my powders and primers stored in that building, but I don't know if the freezing temperatures will cause any damage to the primers or powder. I don't expect the low temps to be a problem, but it's pretty easy to ask.

Should I box up my powders and primers and keep them in the house, or will they be fine being stored in the 20* to 40* range for four months?
  2. al45lc

al45lc Active Member

The biggest problem is humidity. Like many other metal and powder items, as temps swing back and forth along with humidity, the metal and powder attracts moisture and this will degrade the primers and unsealed powders. Stable temps and humidity control are key, and it doesn't sound like you have that.
    Indiana has great humidity swings (born and raised there) and I wouldn't store my stuff in an uncontrolled environment with that kind of humidity.
    I stored mine in sealed cabinets and used dissecant packs when I lived there, I often had to dry them out in the oven (they turned blue when they were heavy with moisture) in the fall and spring. I have primers that are 15 years old that my retired Father gave me from that old cabinet, they work fine, developing very similar loads on the chrony to what I recorded 20 years ago.
    Proper storage is a must.
  3. lawdawg

lawdawg Member

I recently bought this:

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/cb/new-us-military-storage-container.aspx?a=558440