1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Do I Have to Use ML Bullets?

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Jmg198, Jul 21, 2009.

1. Jmg198

Jmg198 New Member

I am new to ML. I had a .50 cal Huntsman barrel placed on my NEF frame recently. My barrel's twist rate is 1:28. I realize that sabots shoot good at this rate and maybe conicals. My question is, I have seen many bullets labeled as .50 cal, but not labeled as ML. Could I use these bullets by throwing them in a sabot. What am I missing? Any thoughts/ideas will be appreciated.
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

You can't put a 50 caliber bullet in a sabot and use it in a 50 caliber rifle. 50 caliber sabots usually use 44 magnum 240 grain JSP pistol bullets. They being .43" diameter, and the sabot taking up the other .07" in the 50 caliber hole. If you put a 50 caliber bullet in a sabot, your completed round is gonna be around 58 caliber.
  3. Pustic

Pustic Member

I wouldn't do it either. If by some chance you did and you go to ram the bullet home, you might get it stuck half way down, and that's not a good thing. It's best to use the proper bullets that's made for it. You can also use round balls. If you do that then you want to use a .490" ball with a .015" greased patch.
    Happy shooting!!
    Pustic
  4. txhunter77

txhunter77 New Member

.50 caliber ML usually use either .451-.452" or .429-.430" pistol bullets with 45-50cal or 44-50cal sabots. The sabots are not a one size fits all type, they are made to fit either 44cal or 45cal, but not both.

There are a few bullets that are at or close to 50cal that are intended to be used in 50 cal ML, like Hornadys FPB ML bullet. [​IMG]
  5. Jmg198

Jmg198 New Member