Do I Need To Purchase A Tumbling Machine To Clean Range Brass

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by flyingtiger85, Mar 10, 2012.

1. flyingtiger85

flyingtiger85 Active Member

I have had an interest in reloading all my 9mm empty caseings and I recently won the 9mm dies donated by Brisk44.When I go shooting at a range or in the desert I usually pick up all my brass and it's a little dirty.I do this mostly to keep the areas I shoot in clean and someday taking the brass I wouldn't use to recycle for cash maybe in the future.Soon I will be ordering a press,bullets,primers etc.Do I need a tumbler also, is this a must? I'm new to this but anxious to get started soon.Here is an example of brass left behind all over the ground in the Desert where I shoot alot.

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  2. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Looking at the ground where you're shooting, I'd definitely tumble that stuff to clean it up before I ever ran it through a press.
    There's all sorts of powdery grit that will scratch the snot out of your dies and the brass. Just a quick wipe down or water wash probably won't get all that sand grit off of em.
  3. flyingtiger85

flyingtiger85 Active Member

Well,I guess that answers my question.I'll have to pick one up before I start.I was hoping I didn't need one.Thanks for responding to my question.
  4. JohnTheCalifornian

JohnTheCalifornian Member

You dont have to buy one of those expensive name brand tumblers. I bought a Frankford Arsenal Tumbelr kit years ago and it still works fine. You can get them at Midway for a decent price. Although, rescently, I have noticed the prices coming down on the tumblers. So, you should have a few more options available to use.

The 2 main types of media that are used in tumblers are crushed walnut and crushed corncob.

The walnut is best used for cleaning and the corncob is best used as a polishing (although it too will clean, it just takes longer)